serious problems with 0.1.11 combined with kernel 2.3.24

assie assie@casema.net
Mon, 01 Nov 1999 15:35:00 +0100


Sorry i bothered you all with this problem .
The problem was that i forgot to place the new ipnatctl to /sbin !!!
I'm a real ASSie  :=)

Assie

assie wrote:

> I already took the file from another older kernel (2.3.21)
> it can make netfilter without compiling errors but ip_tables is not
> working anymore and ipnatctl says when i try to masquerade  no such
> protocol (like i did not load de ip_nat_masquerade at all)
>
> strange huh?
> maybe i have to switch to kernel 2.3.23 again
>
> B.T.W. if i try to exec the example script for loading all drivers including
> iptables i get an AIEEEE kernel panic error.
>
> Aiee, killing interrupt handler
> Kernel panic: Attempted to kill idle task!
> In interrupt handler - not syncing
>
> Assie
>
> William Stearns wrote:
>
> > Good day, assie,
> >
> > On Sat, 30 Oct 1999, assie wrote:
> >
> > > hey bill i have troubles doing a make install in netfilter dir ,while
> > > running 2.3.24
> > > i downloaded the full 2.3.24 (no patches)
> > > and installed the kernel
> > > but when i do a make install it says: no rule to make target
> > > `/usr/src/linux/include/asm/page_offset.h', needed by
> > > `ip_conntrack_standalone.o'. Stop.
> > >
> > > so what did you do to make it work or do you have upgraded your system
> > > by patching?
> >
> >         I honestly don't know mine allowed the compile to complete and
> > yours didn't.  My system doesn't have that file either, but netfilter
> > didn't seem to care.
> >         Ideas, anyone?
> >         Cheers,
> >         - Bill
> >
> > ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
> > admin@loopback, $LOGIN@localhost, $LOGNAME@localhost,
> > $USER@localhost, $USER@$HOST,-h1024@localhost,root@mailloop.com
> > Chairman Reed Hundt: rhundt@fcc.gov
> > Commissioner James Quello: jquello@fcc.gov
> > Commissioner Susan Ness: sness@fcc.gov
> > Commissioner Rachelle Chong: rchong@fcc.gov
> > US Postal Service: customer@email.usps.gov
> > (Courtesy of Arlen Fletcher <fletcher@paccar.com>)
> > --------------------------------------------------------------------------
> > William Stearns (wstearns@pobox.com).  Mason, Buildkernel, named2hosts,
> > and ipfwadm2ipchains are at: http://www.pobox.com/~wstearns/
> > --------------------------------------------------------------------------